Victoria DWI Lawyer

While some people consider a DWI to be a less-than-serious or even common offense, it is important to realize it can have a serious impact on your life. In addition to the obvious fines that accompany an offense, having a DWI on your record can adversely affect professional, housing and educational opportunities. It will also cause a spike in insurance rates and affect long-term driving privileges.

Texas is an implied consent state, which means that if you refuse to take a breath or blood test, your license may be suspended automatically for a period of time. After refusing or failing a breath or blood test, you only have 15 days to request a hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety. Failing to do so will result in an automatic license revocation. Therefore, it is very important to hire an attorney as soon as possible following a DWI arrest.

The basic breakdown of DWI charges is as follows:

  • First offense: Class B misdemeanor that carries a fine of up to $2,000, up to 180 days in county jail, the loss of driving privileges and additional surplus charges.
  • Second offense: Class A misdemeanor that carries a fine of up to $4,000, up to 365 days in county jail, the loss of driving privileges and additional surplus charges.
  • Third offense: Third-degree felony that carries a fine of up to $10,000, two to 10 years in prison as well as numerous other consequences.

If you or someone close to you has been charged with a DWI, it is extremely important to protect your rights by reaching out to an experienced lawyer. I am here for you.

Port Lavaca Drunk Driving Defense Attorney Serving The Crossroads Area

For more than 10 years, I have helped clients reach ideal resolutions in DWI cases — either through dismissal of charges or mitigation of consequences. I will do everything I can to bring my experience to represent you in both your administrative and criminal cases. In addition, I am prepared to work on cases involving:

  • Intoxication assault
  • Intoxication manslaughter
  • DWI with a child passenger
  • Suspension of a commercial driver's license
  • Leaving the scene on accident (hit-and-run)
  • DWI with an open container

To schedule a free initial consultation to discuss a charge of driving while intoxicated with a Victoria DWI attorney, call 361-433-5977 or contact The Law Firm of David Benning Smith online.